The Non-Agreement Agreement: A Better Model For Building Roblox Teams?

If you’re a developer looking to start up a team to make a Roblox game, most of the time you’re faced with one of two options: you either fund the project yourself and retain the majority of ownership/revenue rights, or you find people who believe in what you’re doing and cut up most of the game’s revenue among the teammates in lieu of payment.

Having gone down both of these routes, I believe that both of them have terrible, game-killing flaws.

I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice.

The Problem

In the first case, the founder takes on massive risk by investing their personal savings into the project, and the commitment of the other developers is lowered because they are not directly invested. It messes up incentives and can get really messy if things start going wrong and the prospect of losing savings starts coming up on the horizon.

In the latter scenario, “locking in” percents frequently leads to a tragedy of the commons-like conundrum whereby one team member starts slacking, which then lowers the motivation of the other team members. After all, why should they work harder than the slacker if percents are already determined and their additional hard work won’t be rewarded?

Both of these models are flawed in that they make assumptions based on data that is not yet available, namely: how will each person actually contribute to the project? It also forces the lead/project manager to assume a “whip” position to make sure everyone is doing what they should be, and we all know how great negative reinforcement is for making games \s.